It is currently Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 731 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 8:32 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '06
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 19, 2013
Posts: 1793
Preferred Pronoun Set: Ø
Trap Soul
Enchantment (U)
When Trap Soul enters the battlefield, put a repository counter on target creature. Then, exile target creature until there are no repository counters on the battlefield.
Your brother's soul is trapped within the body of another.

I need help with the wording. I want the creature to still come back if Trap Soul dies before the creature does.

I agree with Johnny, an Aura works better:

Trap Soul
Enchantment — Aura (U)
Enchant creature
When Trap Soul enters the battlefield, exile target creature until enchanted creature leaves the battlefield.
Your brother's soul is trapped within the body of another.

I don't know if this still works if Trap Soul is disenchanted, though. I assume not.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 5:17 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 12, 2015
Posts: 691
ty wrote:
I agree with Johnny, an Aura works better:

Trap Soul
Enchantment — Aura (U)
Enchant creature
When Trap Soul enters the battlefield, exile target creature until enchanted creature leaves the battlefield.
Your brother's soul is trapped within the body of another.

I don't know if this still works if Trap Soul is disenchanted, though. I assume not.
If your Trap Soul is disenchanted, the effect doesn't care, so the creature stays exiled at that moment. There's then two possibilities for how the effect continues, and I'm not sure which one the rules currently support. One is that the effect doesn't care or track anything until the enchanted creature leaves, and it is able to recognize that through Last Known Information and so the effect doesn't notice at all if Trap Soul leaves. The other is that the phrase "enchanted creature" instantly becomes meaningless (because the creature is not enchanted anymore) and so the exiled creature is gone forever. I am very sure, though, that lots of players will think disenchanting it is meaningful and so the creature comes back then, even though that's the only outcome I'm sure is impossible.

The cleanest Aura implementation is
Quote:
Trap Soul
Enchantment — Aura (U)
Enchant creature
When ~ enters the battlefield, exile target creature until ~ leaves the battlefield.

_________________


"Ability words are flavor text for Melvins."

"Remember, dear friends: when we announce something and you imagine it, the odds that we made exactly that thing are zero."---Kelly Digges


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:57 pm 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 09, 2015
Posts: 1763
Aran, The Faithful
Legendary Creature - Human Knight
Exalted
Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, for each opponent other than defending player, you may put a token that's a copy of that creature onto the battlefield tapped and attacking that player or a planeswalker he or she controls. Exile the tokens at the end of combat.
2/3

How can I change the second ability so that: A) It works with legendaries and doesn’t just nonbo; and B) works with Exalted and cards like Rafiq to also gove those bonuses to the new copies?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:50 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 12, 2015
Posts: 691
When you copy a card, you never copy any external bonuses or abilities that have been applied to the card. That's just how copying work in Magic. It's possible to write out words that will do what you want there, but I'm assuming you don't want an ability that would be an eight-line paragraph in 3-point type saying a lot of very strange-looking things.

For the other thing, you can easily just borrow the last clause of Jace, Cunning Castaway: "except they're not legendary".

_________________


"Ability words are flavor text for Melvins."

"Remember, dear friends: when we announce something and you imagine it, the odds that we made exactly that thing are zero."---Kelly Digges


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:40 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 2364
Hydragenesis -
Enchantment | R
Hydras you control enter the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on them, where X is the number of Hydras you control.
When Hydragenesis enters the battlefield, create a 0/0 green Hydra creature token three times.

Unsure if these tokens enter the battlefield and immediate die before the counters are added / there are any Hydras on the battlefield.
The hope is to create a 1/1 Hydra, 2/2 Hydra, and 3/3 Hydra (having them count themselves when they enter the battlefield).


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:39 pm 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mar 14, 2015
Posts: 2164
I think it probably works, but it is a little unclear. I'd want to make it as explicit as possible:

Hydra creatures you control enter the battlefield with an additional X +1/+1 counters on them, where X is 1 plus the number of other Hydra creatures you control.

The second ability could be clearer as well:

When Hydragenesis enters the battlefield, create a 0/0 green Hydra creature token. Then repeat this process twice.

_________________
Q's Links
Pro Tour YMTC 5 Archive


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:51 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 911
Ethereal (This creature cannot be blocked unless one of the blockers is an artifact creature.)

I want it to stack so that a creature with ethereal twice can only be blocked if two or more of the blockers are artifact creatures.

I want it to be somewhat apparent in that it stacks without being a text-box hog.

As it is reminder text, it can be technically sloppy as long as it is grokkable.

Thanks!


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:09 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 12, 2015
Posts: 691
Rules text
Ethereal: A creature with one or more instances of Ethereal can't be blocked, unless its blocking creatures include a number of artifact creatures equal to the number of instances of Ethereal the creature has.

Reminder text
Ethereal (A creature with Ethereal can't be blocked, unless it's blockers include an artifact creature for each instance of Ethereal this creature has.)

_________________


"Ability words are flavor text for Melvins."

"Remember, dear friends: when we announce something and you imagine it, the odds that we made exactly that thing are zero."---Kelly Digges


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:24 pm 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 27, 2013
Posts: 526
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her/hers
If I populate a token created via myriad, will the copy stick around post-combat?

_________________
From nothing came posts.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:29 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 6731
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Eph wrote:
If I populate a token created via myriad, will the copy stick around post-combat?

That's more of a question for Rules Central, but yes, the copy will stick around. Myriad only exiles the tokens it created, and copies of those tokens are separate objects not subject to that effect.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 1:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 2364
Vow of Martyrs -
Enchantment | R
Activated abilities of creatures can't be activated unless their controller sacrifices them.
"Else above self." - Motto of the Purecrestian Few

The wording of this card is proving to be very difficult. I've tried a few things, but they either don't have the functionality that I want or read weirdly.

  • The first option: Brutal Suppression. I tried: "Activated abilities of creatures cost an additional “Sacrifice this creature” to activate." It has weird interactions with creatures that already have "sacrifice this creature" in the cost. You can't sacrifice the creature twice as part of the cost, where there are no limitations with sacrificing multiple lands/mountains...
  • The second option: Cursed Totem. The above wording closely mirrors this example, but there are some weird plural/singular tense issues with this example that I can't solve. The singular alternate: "Activated abilities of each creature can't be activated unless that creature's controller sacrifices it."
  • The third option, which I like the least: I could make this a triggered ability rather than an activation cost... this would allow you to stack activations as well as respond to activations with other spells/abilities...

How's this risky option: "If a player would activate a creature's ability, that player must also sacrifice that creature in addition to paying its other activation costs."

Thanks in advance for the help on this.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:45 pm 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mar 14, 2015
Posts: 2164
Is there a reason why it can't be a triggered ability?

Whenever a player activates an ability of a creature they control, counter that ability unless its controller sacrifices that creature.

_________________
Q's Links
Pro Tour YMTC 5 Archive


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:13 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 2364
I think that works well, actually.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:54 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 4199
Location: somewhere btwn Achilles and the tortoise
Preferred Pronoun Set:
Is it really a necro if the thread is stickied?


Tiny Tower
Artifact
You may play Tiny Tower as a land if you have an available land play remaining. (It's not a spell and costs no mana. It enters the battlefield as a land in addition to its other types.)
: Add .

Terrarium
Artifact Land
You may cast Terrarium as a spell for . (If you do, it's no longer a land.)
: Add .


Which one of these is cleaner? The line between what needs to be rules text and what needs to be reminder text is blurry to me.

_________________


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:50 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 9603
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
You can just say "You may play ~ as a land", since you can't play lands unless you have an available land play.
That said, I'm not convinced that actually makes it into a land (although it might), nor am I convinced that it should for this card.

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:30 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 7180
Fieldmist Borderpost is similar, or you could have a land with an activated ability that says “2: put this from your hand onto the battlefield. Activate only as a sorcery”


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 4:44 pm 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 09, 2015
Posts: 1763
Just wanna check that this works how I think it does so not gonna make a whole thread for it.

Excommunicate the King
Enchantment
When ~ enters the battlefield, draw a card.
Cards in command zones lose all abilities.
"You can't do this you dastards! I'm the one in charge! Me!"
-King Harvoth, the Exiled


This don't affect cards like Ghalta and Sephara as they are moved onto the stack before you pay their cost so they have back abilities by the time that matters, yes?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 4:57 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 6731
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Yes, I believe that's correct. Here's a simliar scenario with Yixlid Jailer, Karador, Ghost Chieftain, and Ghoultree: https://magicjudge.tumblr.com/post/4400 ... n-theres-a

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2019 7:13 am 
Offline
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
Proud Owner of Mown
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 8731
Here is an interesting design challenge I have come up against.

I want to make a planeswalker with two abilities and an ultimate that reads "You get two emblems with this walkers first two abilities." essentially turning the first two abilities into emblems for the rest of the game.

For example:

Dekanawidah, Peacemaker
Legendary Planeswalker ─ Dekanawidah (M)
: Until end of turn, whenever you cast a spell, create a 1/1 white spirit creature token with flying.
: All creatures have base power and toughness 1/1 until the start of your next turn.
: You get two emblems. One with "Whenever you cast a spell, create a 1/1 white spirit creature token with flying" and one with "All creatures have base power and toughness 1/1."


This is what I've had to settle for so far. The problem is the extreme wordiness. Barely fits on the card.

The problem is the wording on those first 2 abilities to make this work more succinctly. If I take the text as is, I get emblems with "Until end of turn" and "Until the start of your next turn" which doesn't work. I started looking at other abilities, but couldn't find anything that worked directly pasted onto an emblem.

Is there some way, or some ability I can use that could just say "You get an emblem with the first ability and an emblem with the 2nd"?

_________________
Sithas
Sithas:Rising Storms
Ephemeron

Cato


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: The Card Clinic
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 2364
I designed this card. How does it work?

BelangiaJo wrote:
Tlahuizcalpantecuhtli -
Legendary Creature - God | MR
Tlahuizcalpantecuhtli can't attack or block and loses all other abilities unless you control the least number of permanents among players.
During your turn, other creatures you control get +2/+2.
Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, exile target creature an opponent controls until that creature leaves the battlefield.
3/3


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 731 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 33, 34, 35, 36, 37  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CuriousHeartless and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group