It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:49 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Panharmonicon + Evolve
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:49 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Specific cards involved:
Panharmonicon
Experiment One

This didn't happen at a sanctioned event, but I'd still like to know the correct outcome in case it crops up (cause it might). Also slightly tweaking the scenario to keep it as simple as possible.

Player A controls both a Panharmonicon and an Experiment One with no +1/+1 counters on it. He then plays a Runeclaw Bear. Experiment One's Evolve ability triggers twice, as per Panharmonicon's interaction. How many +1/+1 counters does Experiment One end up with?

Based on the reminder text I ruled that it would only get one counter, and after reviewing the Comp Rules entry on Evolve I'm confident (99.9% sure) that I told true. But as I can never truly be 100% sure about my rulings, I would like someone to confirm this.

The reasoning I gave was that Evolve has an "intervening if" clause in it, so unless something gives the creature entering the battlefield +1/+1 (or more) in response to the Evolve triggers going on the stack (or before the one that would fizzle begins to resolve), then the intervening if clause causes the ability to fizzle after the Experiment gets enough counters to make its p/t the same as the creature that caused the triggers.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 11:06 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2707
You are correct. You get two triggers of Evolve, but only one will add a +1/+1 counter. The Gatherer entry even explains it;

Quote:
If evolve triggers, the stat comparison will happen again when the ability tries to resolve. If neither stat of the new creature is greater, the ability will do nothing. If the creature that entered the battlefield leaves the battlefield before evolve tries to resolve, use its last known power and toughness to compare the stats.


There is no functional difference in this example between having Experiment One's ability triggering twice at the same time due to Panharmonicon's ability, or having two 2/2's enter the battlefield at the same time due to Allied Reinforcements. When the first trigger resolves, it'll make Experiment One a 2/2 creature, and the second trigger resolving will do nothing since it no longer meets the requirements of the ability.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group